"2008 was Brewers year, not 2011"

Adam McCalvy talks history of Brewers

Evan Heffelfinger
May 04, 2020 - 3:03 pm

© Benny Sieu, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel via Imagn Content Services, LLC


The Milwaukee Brewers became a Major League franchise 50 years ago, and since then have become one of the most unique franchises with a ton of stories and characters attached.

The Brewers have only made the playoffs six times in those 50 years, making only one World Series (1982, lost in seven games to the Cardinals), then endured a tough stretch in the 90's and 00's that culminated in a couple of playoff appearances in 2008 and 2011, then another rebirth and set of playoff appearances in 2018 and 2019.

The 2008 team was infamous for being the first Brewers playoff squad since that '82 team, and was powered by young superstars Ryan Braun and Prince Fielder, and were carried on the mound by former Cy Young winner and midseason aquisition CC Sabathia.

What Brewers team of the 2000's had the best chance to win the World Series?


Adam McCalvy, Brewers beat reporter for Brewers.com/MLB.com and author of the new book “The Milwaukee Brewers at 50: Celebrating a Half-Century of Brewers Baseball”, joined Bill on Monday to talk about those 2000's teams, and his new book on the history of the Brewers:

- How did he begin the process of the book?

- What stands out to him about the Brewers’ franchise?

What did former players have to say about the Brewers’ fanbase?

Which player he interviewed does he think enjoyed his stay in Milwaukee the most, and was the most colorful player to be around?

- What did the former players say was their one chance to win the World Series in this century?

Listen to the full interview below!