Counsell second in MoY race

Joe Zenzola
November 13, 2019 - 11:08 am

© Jeff Hanisch | 2019 Sep 18


MILWAUKEE-- Milwaukee Brewers Manager Craig Counsell finished second in the NL Manager of the Year race to Mike Shildt of the St. Louis Cardinals on Tuesday night. 

The Brewers manager finished with the most first place votes, but lost the overall race to Shildt who finished with more points. It was the first time in MLB history that a manager who never played professional baseball won the award. 

Counsell also finished second place in the Manager of the Year voting last year, trailing the Braves' Brian Snitker. A Brewers Manager has never won Manager of the Year, yet they have multiple second place finalists, most recent (besides Counsell) being Ron Roenicke in 2011.

Christian Yelich will be the Brewers final hope to bring home some extra hardware this season as he is a finalist for the MVP award announced on Thursday.